Understanding Facebook Ads Results
Facebook has become such a powerful channel for organisations, particularly when it comes to advertising, but understanding Facebook Ads results is a whole new language for most people.
To many of you, looking at Facebook Ads results will seem like a bunch of numbers that don’t make sense, and quite frankly you’re not concerned about. As long as the sales come in, that’s what matters. The truth is, if you’re investing in Facebook Advertising, then it’s important to understand what your results mean.
When you understand Facebook Ads results, you have the power to manage your ads better and achieve your business goals quicker.
From what campaigns are working, through to the audience that responds better, sales, profits, etc. All of this data is available, and you just need to learn how to read it!
Facebook Ads Results Made Simple
1- Analyse Results on a Campaign Level
The ‘Campaign’ will give you a glance at performance and is all about your objective. What do you want to achieve from a particular advert? Video views, clicks, conversions, purchases, etc.
2- Review Advert Sets
Once you have set the objective for the campaign, it’s then about the following which is set up in Ad Sets:
- Audience – who are your adverts going out to
- Location – what country, state, postal code are you targeting
- Placement – where will these ads be shown – Facebook, Instagram, desktop, mobile, etc
- Budget – What is your budget either daily or for the duration of the campaign
- Timing – when is the campaign beginning and ending?
Each advert set should have a separate audience to give you some useful comparisons when it comes to split testing. You can also adjust budgets accordingly when you see one audience performing better than another.
The ACTUAL Advert
Yes, the advert is last to create, and that’s what your audience sees. We suggest having one advert per advert set to keep it easy to adjust and read results.
Once everything has been set up in this way, your Facebook Ad results are much easier to review.
The main things you want to look out for are:
- Objectives – Website clicks, video view, purchases – What are your results?
- Reach – How many people have seen your ads. This won’t give you instant results, but it excellent when it comes to brand awareness.
- Link Clicks – I always use this metric to see if people are clicking through to the website. One aim for a lot of ads we run is to get people OFF Facebook and onto your website to interact.
- CTR (Click Through Rate) – Generally above 1% is fantastic. Less and it shows that people aren’t interested in finding out more, so change your copy, your offer, call to action, audience, etc.
- CPC (Cost Per Click) – These vary but ultimately you know how many websites clicks it takes for someone to make a purchase. If your cost per click is $10 and it takes 10 website visits to sell a $1k product, then happy days. Likewise, if your CPC is $10 and it takes 10 website visits for a purchase that is only $10, then you should review!
- Performance – Lastly, before I lose you all, when you’re in FB Ads Manager look at Performance. You’re able to break down the results to view what areas people are in, devices they are using, age, etc. Always good for a snapshot view and, you can export these results to study later with your team and agency.
Understanding Facebook Ad results can be a little overwhelming, but hopefully, these tips help. To learn more about our Facebook Adverts Management Services, please contact us today.